The Thomas Mann Prize

The Thomas Mann Prize, in the amount of £100, is funded by the Ida Herz Bequest. (For Ida Herz, see here.) It is awarded for an undergraduate or post-graduate essay that addresses some aspect of Thomas Mann’s life and work. The prize is awarded in even-numbered years. Essays that meet the standards of original research will be considered for publication in the Publications of the English Goethe Society.

The closing date is 1 October in even years.

Essays should be no more than 5000 words long (including notes but excluding bibliography), and neither published nor under consideration for publication.

Entries should be made by e-mail to the Honorary Secretaries of the Society:

Dr Kevin Hilliard (, Professor Astrid Köhler (, and Dr Charlotte Lee (


Francesco Albé
(University of Cambridge) for his essay ‘Choreographies of (Dis)order: Dance and Same-Sex Desire in Thomas Mann’s ‘Unordnung und frühes Leid’ (1925) and Klaus Mann’s Der fromme Tanz (1926)’.


William Andrews
(University of Oxford) for his essay ‘Buddenbrooks: The harbinger of Mann’s style’.